If You Like Monty Python.: Here Are over 200 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

If You Like Monty Python.: Here Are over 200 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love
$9.89

Shop Now

Category: media > books | Merchant: Walmart US

If You Like Monty Python.: Here Are over 200 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love
(If You Like) . From their perfectly insane television show to their consistently irreverent and riotous movies, Monty Python has owned the zany and absurd side of comedy since their debut. Their influence can be felt in every comedy show that followed them, from Saturday Night Live and Second City television, to The Kids in the Hall, not to mention all the laughs writ large on the silver screen, where their brand of absurdity opened the doors for such people as Jim Carrey who made a name for themselves by pushing the funny even further. This is the first book to look at everything influenced by the Pythons, but also at those who came before them from the classic British comedies to the Marx Brothers, and everything in the Python universe, from Fawlty Towers and A Fish Called Wanda to Spamalot and Brazil. If You Like. Monty Python is a book for any fan who has graduated from the Ministry of Silly Walks and wants more.


Similar Products:


If You Like the Sopranos.: Here Are Over 150 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

If You Like the Sopranos.: Here Are Over 150 Movies, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

$12.29
View Product

Category: media > books | Merchant: Walmart US UPC: 9780879103903
(If You Like) . The best-loved crime family in America is just part of a grand tradition of mob movies, gangster flicks, great television dramas, and a sensibility that is part Sicily and part New Jersey. If You Like the Sopranos. is the first book that




If You Like Bob Marley. - Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love - Softcover

If You Like Bob Marley. - Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love - Softcover

$16.99
View Product

Category: musical instruments > instrument accessories > general accessories | Brand: HAL LEONARD | Merchant: Cascio Interstate Music If You Like Bob Marley. is the unique and utterly compulsivestory of the King of Reggae, told not through the life and times ofMarley himself, but through the music and magic of the musicians whogrew up around and under the influence of Bob Marley and his band, theWailers. Outlining some 200 artists, albums, songs, movies, and books, If You Like Bob Marley. tells how reggae music was torn from the confines of a small-worldmusic cult to become one of the biggest-selling genres popular music hasever known. Recommended performers and performances are analyzed in thedepth that each deserves, as the book moves out of reggae's Jamaicanheartland to track its influence across the world, from California punkto French pop and beyond. Genre-spanning countdowns of thebest-ever Bob Marley covers, the greatest British ska, and even therudest songs ever written populate the pages, as author Thompsonhighlights artists as far apart as Eric Clapton and Rancid, Bob Dylanand the Rolling Stones, and Serge Gainsbourg and the Clash. If You Like Bob Marley. digs deeply, too, into the annals of Jamaica's own star-studded musicalhistory, to train fresh ears on such legends as Black Uhuru, Toots andthe Maytals, Sean Paul, and Peter Tosh.




If You Like the Beatles. : Here Are Over 200 Bands, Films, Records, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

If You Like the Beatles. : Here Are Over 200 Bands, Films, Records, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

$14.99
View Product

Category: media > books | Brand: HAL LEONARD | Merchant: Cascio Interstate Music UPC: 884088530563
The Beatles came up in the rock and-and-roll era, when Chuck Berry, Little Richard, and Elvis Presley defined cool. Their early shows were big beat bacchanals, the Brit interpretation of that crazy American sound. But it wasn't long before they were absorbing and creating more and more music from folk to experimental, to psychedelia and hard rock, quite literally changing music forever and influencing hundreds of great bands in the process. This is the first book for music lovers that begins with the simple premise, "If you like the Beatles. ," and takes off from there, digging into their influences and everything that came after them, opening up new doors for listeners looking for no-risk discs to expand their collection. Beginning with the Beatles' lesser-known roots in rockabilly and Tin Pan Alley, and working through American R & B, the British Invasion, California folk, and the Summer of Love, and to the great pop and rock bands of the '80s, '90s, and the 21st century, this is a must-have for anyone who likes the Beatles, which is. everyone.


')